Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum

We tell it like it is!

Newbie - No electric start?

This is a discussion on Newbie - No electric start? within the Grizzly Electrical & Lighting forums, part of the Grizzly Forums category; I apologize ahead of time as I'm a newbie when working on these things. I worked my way through rebuilding a carb but electrical issues ...

Go Back   Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum > Grizzly Forums > Grizzly Electrical & Lighting

Grizzly Electrical & Lighting Discuss Grizzly electrical and lighting modifications here.

Lightscout is on a distinguished road
12-23-2009, 10:28 AM
Angry Newbie - No electric start?

I apologize ahead of time as I'm a newbie when working on these things. I worked my way through rebuilding a carb but electrical issues are beyond my knowledge.

I have a 99 Grizzly 600 and the electric start doesn't work. Pull start works but hard as hell. Anyway, when the problem first started I could "feel" clicking in the starter relay. Looking on here I tried the screwdriver trick to bridge between the relay terminals and still no start. What I am getting is a loud "click" coming from the relays under the seat. Almost sounds like a circuit breaker where it trips when I hit the button then a few seconds later it resets.

I've followed the wire harness and didn't see anything rubbed bare. The fuses appear to be fine. With a huge storm approaching the Midwest, I'd like to figure out what the deal is.

Once I can get it to start then I have to fight with the winch not working. Not sure if it's related to my electrical issues or the switch or what...

Thanks
Lightscout is offlineReport Post

12-23-2009, 01:12 PM
I did take the battery down to Batteries Plus and they said it was in great shape. I'm taking their word for it b/c if it was even a hair past being good, they would have tried to sell me a new one. Not a dumb question, I should have stated that in the post.