Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all . I am picking up a 2002 660 on Monday . I am new to the ATV scene . I am really just getting it to use on hunting trips . No crazy mud runs or anything like that . What do I need to look for and what if any mods do I need to do to insure the longevity of my new to me quad ? It is all stock as it sits now and has 2062 miles and 525.8 hours on it . Thanks

·
Registered
44 Posts
Hello all . I am picking up a 2002 660 on Monday . I am new to the ATV scene . I am really just getting it to use on hunting trips . No crazy mud runs or anything like that . What do I need to look for and what if any mods do I need to do to insure the longevity of my new to me quad ? It is all stock as it sits now and has 2062 miles and 525.8 hours on it . Thanks
I've got a 2003 660 Grizzly, and I use it mainly for hunting and farm work as well.

My favorite mods I have done to mine are the fender flares, and my Kolpin ATV rear lounger. The fender flares keep me and my Grizzly clean when the trails turn to mud, and my Kolpin rear box holds all my gear and keeps it dry/clean as well.

I would suggest those mods, and a good set of tires, and the 660 will do everything you need it to do.

·
Registered
1,214 Posts
-tires for sure, brand and size for what your explaining there are a lot of options.
-winch
-Shim for the clutch
-2" receiver hitch would come in handy too
-gun rack

You could get by with less but all those will help you

·
Registered
44 Posts
-tires for sure, brand and size for what your explaining there are a lot of options.
-winch
-Shim for the clutch
-2" receiver hitch would come in handy too
-gun rack

You could get by with less but all those will help you
I see a lot of talk about "shim for the clutch". I have a general idea of what you are talking about, but I have no idea what the benefits of shims are. Care to explain?

·
Premium Member
10,089 Posts