Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey y’all, this my first post on here, I’ll try to keep it as short an to the point as i can. So my friend got a deal on a 04 grizzly660 I’ve been helping him work on it since i have an 2003 660 an know a little about them.
Originally it was hard to get started, once you kept it running an got it warmed up it would idle fine. However while sitting in neutral it would bog down at low throttle, less than 1/4 throttle, an if you tried to push it past the bog it would give a loud backfire that sounds like it’s coming from the front an then would stall out.
Gas tank is spotless, previous owner put on a new carb (looks like a very cheap aftermarket) but it is perfectly clean on the inside, and air filter is clean. Adjusted the mixture screw out to 2 turns. While the carb was off i did check the intake valves, an they were really tight less than .10mm, i double checked an it was on TDC of the compression stroke, however I had a brain-fart an forgot it had idled for a little bit prior to that an i adjusted the valves only 10mins or so after, so i know i need to recheck them cold an also do the exhaust, which I’ll be doing in a few hours. But was wondering if anyone else had some more ideas besides valves. A front end backfire isn’t something I’ve experienced, so it kinda surprised me. I’m still trying to learn how to identify something running lean or rich. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #2