Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi-
I am new to Grizzly Central and to this forum and this is my first post. I'm the guy in my neighborhood that gets volunteered or I volunteer to keep all thing internal combustion running or to get them breathing fire once again. I don't always ask for these missions or problems but I like to try and help considering that is my background and if it is a gift??? haha, or a God given talent to attract another headache!

From what I have been reading on this site, the Grizzly electrical systems seem to be riddled with many gremlins?! Here is my current Grizzly gremlin courtesy of one of my fine neighbors. 1998 Grizzly 600. It was running fine on Sunday and then just quit on him. With the plug out and plug cap removed from the lead I only get one spark to jump from the high voltage plug wire to the head when I let off of the start button. The battery is at just under 13 volts. I have not tried the pull start yet to see if I have a spark when using the pull start, I'll try that later today. I try to think simple because many times that is what it is something simple. The coil primary and secondary test fine and I am getting a reading on the red and white for the pulse / pick up coil. The start /stop button is working fine. Key switch on/off is fine but I did not disconnect it yet to isolate it from the system.

Thanks in advance for your help.....other opinions greatly help the troubleshooting process.

Thanks-
Joe Jr.

·
Premium Member
10,670 Posts
Welcome from Colorado.
It won't start with the plug remove :)
and many times a new plug fixes this problem.
I bet this old machine has never had the valve lash adjusted.