Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am working on a friend's '01 Big Bear 400 4x4. When I first got it, the battery was dead so I was pull starting it. It would run for a while, with an erratic idle, then die with a pop. I'm not too good with carbs, so instead of rebuilding I just put a Centric carb in it. And a battery. It fired up, ran a little rough, then stalled. It wouldn't start for a few minutes then when it did start, it did the same thing. When I pressed the start button it didn't crank, but the oil/temp light would come on. After sitting for a few minutes it would crank. It's full of oil so I'm thinking it's overheating but not sure why. I'm new to quads, and don't have a manual or anything for it so I could use some help. Thanks!

-Tim

·
Registered
541 Posts
Hi Tim, It is not overheating. Sounds more like you have a fuel problem. Not sure about that carb, was it new? Other things to check - fuel line for good flow, fuel strainer for clogs, gas cap vent for flow.

When you say full of oil, how full? You are checking with the dipstick, right?

Reactions: Timbro

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Hi Greg, thanks for replying. Yeah, it was a new carb. I put a little fuel filter inline, and it's getting fuel. Didn't know there was a fuel strainer, do you know where it is? The vent cap is not plugged, I can easily blow air through the vent hole. Dipstick says it has oil in it, at the correct level. If it's just a fuel problem why won't the starter crank when I press the button after it stalls? And when I press the button and it doesn't crank, the oil/temp light comes on and stays on until I let off the start button.

·
Registered
541 Posts
The fuel strainer is attached to the fuel petcock inside the tank. It is simply a fine mesh screen which may be plugged up with crap, but if you can see fuel flowing then that is probably not the issue.