Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I recently aquired a 2005 grizzly 660 that my dad owned. It hasn't run for a while so I am trying to get it back in good running order. So far a tune up new tank of gas with some chem tool carb/ efi cleaner and cleaning the air filter and it will run for a while with the choke on but cuts off. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
5,546 Posts
Have you actually removed the carburetor and cleaned it? If not, start with that first.
Those gas tank additive fuel cleaners do very little, if anything at all.

·
Registered
1,433 Posts
Welcome to GC, good luck with the Grizz, guys on here will get you fixed right up. X2 on what @dezz said.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I haven't taken it apart yet because I am Leary about it. I have a lot of mechanical experience with cars and other stuff but I haven't really gotten into a grizzly much. I am not really sure the exact path and steps to take.

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
I haven't taken it apart yet because I am Leary about it. I have a lot of mechanical experience with cars and other stuff but I haven't really gotten into a grizzly much. I am not really sure the exact path and steps to take.
Carb cleaning is considered to be basic and easy by a lot of people. Just different from most jobs. Sometimes the most difficult part is accessing and removing the carb. Here's a good guide video:
lots of other good videos out there too.

Go for it. Take pics along the way, that way if you get stuck lots of guys here can help you. You can buy a card rebuild kit and replace all the jets. You may want to since you're unfamiliar with what a clean jet looks like.

·
Premium Member
7,929 Posts
Hey...Lthornburg64...Welcome to GC from Wisconsin.

Great advise for above..Before you run gas into your nice clean carb...