Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello . This is my first time ever on a forum. I hope I am in the right place to get some help. I am a heavey duty mechanic by trade but am stumped on this problem
I have a 2014 Grizzly 700. The lower rad hose got pulled off while on a ride . Not sure how long the overheat light was on. We let it cool down then heated some water up and put it in .
Now after a 1 hr ride I let the machine sit until it cools down and remove the rad cap. Coolanat level is low. If I rode for the day it would be overheating due to low coolant level. Here is my troubleshooting done.
System was bled several times to ensure air is removed.
No External leaks.
The water pump vent tube is not leaking coolant.I attached a small bottle to bleed tube while on the ride.
Does not seem to be any combustion bubbles in the rad.
My engine oil is clean, not milky at all.
No smoke from the pipe. I am using antifreeze in the coolant while testing.
While on the ride it will raise the level about 1/2 inch in the expansion reservoir thats all.
I feel the head gasket or cracked head is the problem but my testing does not point me that way.
Can anybody suggest my next step .HELP PLEASE.

·
Premium Member
10,663 Posts
Welcome from Colorado.
Years ago I had a hot light situation riding two up in the UT desert, stopped to see coolant dripping out the cap, but the engine seemed just fine....hummmmm
I limped back to camp as there was still coolant dripping slowly, let 'er cool down like you did, then removed the cap to see coolant low in the radiator, hummmmmmm
I started the bike and topped off the level in the radiator, let the engine come up to temp and the coolant started to flow, so the pump was OK, hummmmmmmmmmm