Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy everyone,

New to the site here, and wanting to ask for opinions on 8 ply radials on 700 grizzly's.

Is anyone running them, and how much ride are they sacrificing for the extra ply's ??
Ive been running 26" Mud Lites for a few years now and I like the ride and traction they provide, but I'm getting tired of plugging holes when we ride out west in more rocky terrain. We are headed to the Big Horn WY range here in a month and then hitting the Black Hills on the way back home and I've been trying to decide on a new tire.

I really like the Sedona Mud Rebel RT's, Im thinking about 26" 10r 12's on all 4 corners. I know Big Horns are great but we see a fair amount of serious mud here in Iowa and i was hoping to find a tread that works great on both terrains...

Is anyone else running 8 ply radials or the newer Sedona RT's ??

Any thoughts or input is greatly appreciated !!

Thanks in advance everyone

·
Grizzled
3,625 Posts
Welcome to GC.

I'm running the original BigHorns here in the CO mountains, but as you know, those are only 6-ply radials. There are many on here running Pitbull Growlers and those are 8-ply radials. I've never used them but may switch to them once I need new tires if they are still available. I have sliced a front BigHorn 26x9x12 and had to replace. I was running that tire at a lower psi and have since increased psi on that same size replacement and not had an issue. But that does not address your question about mud or ride quality on 8-ply.

·
Premium Member
10,384 Posts
I think 8 ply is toooooo much, the sidewall is part of the suspension.
I run 11 p.s.i. around and have only two plugs from screws in 7000 miles. I crushed a wheel and broke the bead, pounded the wheel out, the bead took and the tire is still on the machine, These O.G.'s are tough and work great in thick mud with 33% bentonite, very slick and sticky.