Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I just got a 97 kodiak 400 4x4 that I picked up for 120 bucks. If you jump it it fires right up and runs really good but when you put it in gear and go it only has first gear 2-5 is like there is nothing there. You shift and it feels like it goes in gear but then there's nothing there. I'm new to 4 wheelers and hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

·
Registered
5,061 Posts
How positive does first gear engage? Is there any slippage detected? What about reverse?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
First kicks in good and no slipping at all. And as for the reverse I had to undo the brake safety due to it being stuck but it goes in fine only

·
Registered
1,226 Posts
I'm not too familiar with that era Kodiak, but the tranny looks very similar to a lot of the semi-auto utility Honda's. So how do you get it to operate in reverse? Put foot shifter in N and then sub-transmission in 'R'?

·
Registered
5,061 Posts
Need to know what model of transmission you have. Is it the dual range (hi and lo) or the simple 5-speed only? Both were available in 1997.

·
Registered
1,226 Posts
Need to know what model of transmission you have. Is it the dual range (hi and lo) or the simple 5-speed only? Both were available in 1997.
In the US, multiple OEM parts websites only show the one with H-L-R being available in 1997.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Not sure on the model but it has the high, low, and reverse but it also has the gear shift on the left side with the shift pattern for n-5

·
Registered
1,226 Posts
Not sure on the model but it has the high, low, and reverse but it also has the gear shift on the left side with the shift pattern for n-5
Just for sanity, check to make sure the foot shift lever isn't bent or interfering with anything that could prevent it from moving through its full stroke.