Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am planning to get some better skid plates for my 2019 grizzly. I am considering either the Ricochet brand or the aluminum set from Yamaha. Who has bought either of these and what are your opinions of each? Which was easier to install?

·
Registered
177 Posts
I looked at aluminum skid plates for my '21 but eventually went with a plastic set from Iron Baltic and i'm glad I did. They slide over obstacles a lot smoother than the aluminum ones do on my '00.

·
Grizzled Moderator
2014 Yamaha Grizzly 700 EPS
4,357 Posts
A riding buddy has the Yamaha Al skids on his 2021 Grizz and seems to like them as they connect to the OEM location where the OEM skids attach.

Me, I've been using Ricochet for many years now, had their AL skids on my 2007 Grizzly 700 and transferred the main skids to my 2014 but did need to purchase new a-arm skids as they are a different size. I also opted to go with the Ricochet plastic overlays to make the sliding better over rocks. Having the plastic overlays does not avoid the potential for having to pound the Al skids back into shape from time to time. Taking off the Ricochet skids is not overly complex but it is also not a 5 minute job.

I've seen the Iron Baltic Plastic HDPE skids on a 2017 Grizzly and they were very nice. Those are 10mm thick and look very tough/strong but I didn't look to see how they connect.

If I were in need of replacement skids for my current Grizzly or if I bought a brand new Grizzly, I would most certainly opt for the Iron Baltic Plastic HDPE skids.

·
Registered
2022 Grizzly 700 SE
90 Posts
I have the factory yamaha aluminium skids, not tried anything else but regular steel skid plates on trucks.

Saved a control arm already from an hidden rock in tall grass.

For the looks, IMO they can't be beat. They also protect well the areas they protect, and prepare 2-3 hours to mount them for the first time.