Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to Yamaha. I have owned Honda's for over 20 years. I now have a 2019 Grizzly 700 eps se with the 14inch wheels on it. The gas mielage seems awful compared to the Foremans I've owned. I know they are 475cc compared to the 686 I now have but it's surprising. 3 fill ups to get to 100 miles. Wondering if this is normal or it will get better after being really broken in. Just performed my first maintenance of an oil change and front and rear diff fluids. Also sounds a little bit whiny in the front end after letting off the gas. Maybe It's just a new experience from the Honda's. I did put a k&n air filter on it and the 2r exhaust tip. Please advise.

·
Premium Member
11,195 Posts
You using low gear all the time?

·
Registered
2,309 Posts
That doesn't sound normal. But trail conditions and average speed matter alot.

My 2019 grizzly can do 100 miles on a tank, but that's cruising on easy terrain

·
Premium Member
8,130 Posts
Are you riding very slow? The Griz will use more fuel at 10-15 than at 25-30

·
Grizzled
2014 Yamaha Grizzly 700 EPS
3,741 Posts
How many gallons of fuel per fill-up? You should know that the Yamaha fuel gauge is notoriously inaccurate. On older model Grizzly 700s, the fuel gauge could start flashing at 50'ish miles where if you keep going you could possibly get 90-100 miles total before actually running out of fuel. Not sure if the newer models have a more accurate gauge.

Reactions: Cutlass

·
Registered
188 Posts
Are you leaving it in 4wd when riding ? My wife likes to ride her kodiak in 4wd and she will burn more gas than I riding the same trails.

·
Premium Member
702 Posts