Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got a 2014 grizzly 700 with 30 inch silverbacks and 2 inch bracket lift, run sixity axels, big bore kit and tuner. I keep breaking axles non stop, I am pretty hard on it but they break alot. I heard the spacers wont break your axles as much, what yall think? I dont want to spend the money on gorilla axles.

·
Grizzled
2014 Yamaha Grizzly 700 EPS
3,662 Posts
I have no experience here as I don't care to mud bog, but your situation sounds like the typical pay-to-play scenario. I'm not intending this to come off sounding rude, but you are trying to run very large, heavy tires in mud (assumption) where stuff is going to break. I really do not believe spacers are going to solve your problem. Even if you did go with the stronger and more expensive Gorilla axles, you will then most likely be looking at something else that is going to give and probably end up being even more expensive to fix. Again, back to the phrase, pay-to-play.

Reactions: TiccyTac

·
Registered
2017 Kodiak 700 ESP SE
594 Posts
Wouldn’t the gorilla axels be cheaper in the long run if they last? How many sixity axes do you have to go thru before you have spent the same amount as the gorilla? And as Redrocket said maybe something else will break. As far as spacers go....not sure why they would help, but if your research is showing they do then why not?

·
Registered
2,130 Posts
Don't understand how spacers would help....

·
Registered
179 Posts
Your silverbacks weigh 45 lbs each, my 275/70-18 (32.5 inch tall) LT e rated truck tires are 52 lbs each . That’s a lot of tire for your quad, now if you had gear reduction portals like the Polaris and can am’s guys use you’d probably be fine. As far as I know portals are not available for grizzly’s . My question is what have you read that states spacers will help axles not break ? I’m curios to know.

Reactions: TiccyTac

·
Premium Member
10,674 Posts