Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2008 700 grizzly im only getting 12 volts at the battery but I’m getting 14.5 volts or higher at the regulator any ideas?

·
Registered
1,433 Posts
I have a 2008 700 grizzly im only getting 12 volts at the battery but I’m getting 14.5 volts or higher at the regulator any ideas?
I'm no expert for sure, but if you are getting over 14 volts at the reg, seems like the stator must be working, so if it's only 12 at the battery, maybe the regulator is bad, or there is a bad/loose connection? @dezz, @okbear, @reogem most likely can clear it up for sure.

·
Registered
5,704 Posts
Are you getting 14.5 volts at the output of the regulator or the input?
If it's on the output, then this suggests you got a break in the circuit between the regulator and battery. Check for broken wires, bad fuses, poor connections, etc.
If it's on the input of the regulator, then this voltage is much too low. Additionally, the stator puts out AC Voltage, not DC. The regulator/rectifier changes it to DC Voltage.

Additionally, download a factory service manual. All the testing procedures are in there. Get the manual at www.tradebit.com for less than $20.

·
Premium Member
2,289 Posts
07's and 08's are notorious for stator problems my 08 went at 1500 well maintained miles. There are some threads on here that tell you how to check the stator. I remember reading them when I found mine toasted. I would look that way first as it is way more common failure than the regulator from all I've read.

Reactions: okbear

·
Registered
5,704 Posts
07's and 08's are notorious for stator problems my 08 went at 1500 well maintained miles. There are some threads on here that tell you how to check the stator. I remember reading them when I found mine toasted. I would look that way first as it is way more common failure than the regulator from all I've read.