Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I can't for the life of me get my grizzly into diagnostic mode.


I'm doing it exactly like the manual says. anyone ever experience this?

The only thing i can think of is I unplugged the wrong connection

"Disconnect the wire harness coupler from the fuel pump."

There is only one electrical connection on the fuel pump so I can't figure this out.

basically when I press and hold the buttons the screen goes completely blank and just stays there until I release the buttons then the dash just comes back to life only with teh fuel guage flashing?


what could I be doing wrong
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,214 Posts
What grizzly do you have
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,218 Posts
Carefully reread the instructions.
Did you have both the key switch off and the kill switch off?
Did you continue to hold the reset and select buttons for 8 seconds or more after turning on the key switch?
There is only one connector at the fuel pump to disconnect. Some tests require reconnecting the fuel pump.

Some test also require turning the kill switch on.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes - this is where, i'm stuck - there has to be something else. like turn a switch on or something.

My dash does not turn back on - while the select and reset buttons are being held. I waited upwards of a minute, and it just stays blank, until I let go of the buttons then the dash comes back on.



I did: KEY OFF, KILL SWITCH OFF, DISCONNECT GREY PLUG AT FUEL PUMP, PRESS S&R buttons together simultanenous. HELD them down, KEY ON - continued holding forever, and no DIAG mode.

any suggestions? I will try anything at this point.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
terrastar - there has to be something in common here.

its possible my dash was replaced on mine - since the miles are pretty low on the dash - I'm wondering if maybe your dash was replaced as well?

maybe the newer dash's are different than what i'm seeing in the manual for mine.


I'd like to get someone who knows alot about these to give me a few things to try - hopefully we can get to the bottom of it. The test procedure out of a 09 550 FI manual does NOT work. so it has to be something simple.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
reogem - can you give me a few combinations of things to try if you are aware of them? The parts diagram says ONLY 550 and 700 FI dash's will work - but I'm suspicius of that. is the 700 procedure different?

2009 GRIZZLY 550 FI 4WD - YFM5FGYB METER
2009 GRIZZLY 550 FI 4WD - YFM5FGYGR METER
2009 GRIZZLY 550 FI 4WD - YFM5FGYL METER
2009 GRIZZLY 550 FI 4WD HUNTER - YFM5FGHY METER
2009 GRIZZLY 700 FI 4WD - YFM7FGYB METER
2009 GRIZZLY 700 FI 4WD - YFM7FGYGR METER
2009 GRIZZLY 700 FI 4WD - YFM7FGYL METER
2009 GRIZZLY 700 FI 4WD HUNTER - YFM7FGHY METER


The ECU box is compatible from 09 to 11 for 550's only. anything ring a bell here?



2009 GRIZZLY 550 FI 4WD - YFM5FGYB ELECTRICAL 1
2009 GRIZZLY 550 FI 4WD - YFM5FGYGR ELECTRICAL 1
2009 GRIZZLY 550 FI 4WD - YFM5FGYL ELECTRICAL 1
2009 GRIZZLY 550 FI 4WD HUNTER - YFM5FGHY ELECTRICAL 1
2009 GRIZZLY 550 FI EPS 4WD - YFM5FGPYB ELECTRICAL 1
2009 GRIZZLY 550 FI EPS 4WD - YFM5FGPYGR ELECTRICAL 1
2009 GRIZZLY 550 FI EPS 4WD - YFM5FGPYL ELECTRICAL 1
2009 GRIZZLY 550 FI EPS 4WD HUNTER - YFM5FGPHY ELECTRICAL 1
2009 GRIZZLY 550 FI EPS 4WD SPECIAL EDITION - YFM5FGPSEY ELECTRICAL 1
2010 550 FI EPS 4WD HUNTER - YFM5FGPHZ ELECTRICAL 1
2010 GRIZZLY 550 FI 4WD - YFM5FGZGR ELECTRICAL 1
2010 GRIZZLY 550 FI 4WD - YFM5FGZL ELECTRICAL 1
2010 GRIZZLY 550 FI 4WD HUNTER - YFM5FGHZ ELECTRICAL 1
2010 GRIZZLY 550 FI EPS 4WD - YFM5FGPZGR ELECTRICAL 1
2010 GRIZZLY 550 FI EPS 4WD - YFM5FGPZL ELECTRICAL 1
2011 GRIZZLY 550 4WD - YFM5FGAGR ELECTRICAL 1
2011 GRIZZLY 550 4WD HUNTER - YFM5FGHA ELECTRICAL 1
2011 GRIZZLY 550 EPS 4WD - YFM5FGPAGR ELECTRICAL 1
2011 GRIZZLY 550 EPS 4WD - YFM5FGPAL ELECTRICAL 1
2011 GRIZZLY 550 EPS 4WD HUNTER - YFM5FGPHA ELECTRICAL 1
2011 GRIZZLY 5504WD - YFM5FGAL ELECTRICAL 1
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,218 Posts
550 and 700's use the same meter,
The diagnosis procedure is the same.

They do have different ECM.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
I was able to get into diagnostic mode finally. On mine - I had to set the kill switch to on. and then it lets me into diag mode.

I also unplugged and cleaned my dash connector. it had some corrosion. either way with the kill switch off- it does NOT go into diag mode, only with that kill swtich on


which is bizarre, but the problem is solved
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top