Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, first post on here. I am a trained and skilled mechanic with 20 years field experience for the most part i have enough experience to get myself in and out of trouble I mostly read through posts for ideas and suggestions when i have more than one thought about something, but i am looking for someone that has used a dynatek cdi on a 660 grizzly. I bought one and installed it on my 02 660 but have not run it yet i am waiting to get my clutches back from airdam currently. My concern is the 9000 rpm rev limiter. I realize under load with the CVT it's not going to max out every time i punch it but that's a huge increase from 7700 has anyone experienced problems or blown engines due to this? I'm not planning on holding it wide open down the road but..... Some input would be appreciated.

·
Premium Member
10,621 Posts
Welcome from Colorado.
I remember old thread on this, but it seem those threads are gone due to age.
From memory, I don't remember a 9,000 r.p.m. limit available for the 660.

Reactions: yamehaw

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you! I was not sure if i would get much feedback due to the age of the machine, although it looks brand new still! That's what the instruction papers said it would raise it to, I was surprised to see it that high. I emailed dynatek to see if they would reprogram it if i sent it back, they told me once the map is plotted it cannot be changed. Not sure what to do at this point, if i could put a programmable shift light on it for 8300 rpm if it came on i would back out of it but can't find one for a single cylinder

·
Registered
5,537 Posts
Do not over think this. The Dynatek CDI was a common mod for the 660 years ago. Thousands have been installed and ran without issue. In most cases, you will run out of clutching before you run out of RPM.....unless you go stupid aggressive in your clutching.