Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just picked up a 92 Timberwolf 250 2wd as a fixer upper, but now that I have undone all the previously screwed up repairs I am stuck on an ignition issue.

There is tons of spark, and the stator and pickup checkout OK. It looks like there is a new ign coil on it. I pulled the flywheel and checked the key, and its fine. Initially I could only use the electric start and suspected a weak starter, but I tuned it up and its working better. Once I got the rewind back together I confirmed that I have a timing issue. Give it a pull and there is severe kickback. It wont start with elec. or rewind.

I suspect the CDI box, but am looking for suggestions that might bail me out of a $200 bill.

Thanks gang

·
Premium Member
11,379 Posts
I have no experience with a 250, but did you check the valves as part of the tune-up?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No I haven't done anything with the valves yet. Its on the list though. Does anyone know if there is a decompression mechanism on the 250? Other motors have a centrifugal release that comes on at low RPM.

So I did get it going..... I disconnected the battery and used the pull start and no kick. It started easy, but if I reconnect the battery, ouch! Battery is good though. Lots of voltage and turns the starter nicely, but it wont start.

?????????????

BTW thanks for the reply ridgway

·
Premium Member
11,379 Posts
I didn't see a decompression mechanism on partshark. How's the chain tension adjustment set? Bottomed out? like there's a lot of slack in the chain.
How's the cam gear look? worn?

Reactions: ryanonthevedder

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5