Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Yamaha Grizzly. Love the machine but i do have some questions about the bike. I have about (166km) 13.5 hrs on her now so still in the middle of break in. I notice when I decelerate it pops or kinda back fires is that normal for them. Not overly loud. I was told that's the engine break kicking in. Also I was in a bit hole(front of bike in the air) and it stalled on me. Then it did it again after ridding i turned it off for about 5 mins then restated the bike and it stalled going into gear. I restarted the bike and have not had the issue again. Just looking for advice. Other than that I impressed with here already.

Any shed some light Thanks.

·
Registered
144 Posts
I'm new to grizzly also mine pops on deceleration was told to block off ais hose it's supposed to clear 80-90 percent of the backfiring . I have about 60 miles on mine and it shut off on me one time going into a ditch slowly but restarted back up and didn't do it the rest of day.i think the ais is causing the stalling also I just plugged my ais hose off last night didn't get a chance to ride it yet. Hopefully some other members chime in also.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So the popping is normal operation for these engines. kinda odd wonder what causes it.

·
Registered
175 Posts
Everything I have read says it is normal, It is because the engines run leaner than older models to help with emissions. My 2014 does it also. Non Premium fuel also helps.

Reactions: lyndo62

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
the AIS system adds air directly to the exhaust pipe to aid in burning off any unburnt fuel... thus making the tail pipe gasses as clean as can be. It does not affect performance and is not a function of running lean.. I add more fuel with my EHS controller and the popping gets worse. Blocking it off helps about 65%. It still pops and I continue to hate it.

·
Registered
52 Posts