Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Joined the forum to seek some advice. I'm in the market for an ATV and will probably be ready to buy in the next year or two so I am starting my research so I can be on the lookout when the right machine pops up. I was thinking Honda, but as I have been researching I'm starting to lean Yamaha. Would like to keep my eye out for something used.

What I am looking for:
Long term reliability/durability - I don't plan on abusing it or mudbogging it. I'm not a good mechanic either. In fact, I'm not a mechanic at all.
I'm 6'2, 250lbs and I have some thick brushy property that needs a fairly nimble ATV to get around, so I am looking for a mid sized machine, but not something that would bee too small and uncomfortable for me.
Not looking to do heavy work with it, just riding dirt roads and going through my property which would involve driving over a lot of brush, mesquite, and pencil cactus

I was looking at Kodiak vs Grizzly vs Rancher. I felt that the Grizzly might be too big for my needs though.

As I've been researching, it looks like maybe a used Grizzly 450 might fit the bill.

My question to everyone is, what would you recommend, and are there certain year models or engine sizes that I should avoid or look for?

Thanks for the help!

Greg

·
Registered
5,545 Posts
For maximum reliability, the Grizzly 450 is as good as it gets.

For the Grizzly 700, 2009-2015 is the most reliable models to purchase.

·
Premium Member
10,670 Posts
Welcome from Colorado.
X-2 on above.
I would go with a 700.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Isn't the Grizzly 700 physically larger than the 450? I wouldn't pass up a good deal on a 700, but I need more maneuverability where I would be riding.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
For maximum reliability, the Grizzly 450 is as good as it gets.

For the Grizzly 700, 2009-2015 is the most reliable models to purchase.