Yamaha Grizzly ATV Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 17 grizz. curious to see feedback on what size plows everyone is running.. thinking about getting the tusk 60 .

·
Registered
900 Posts
I have been using a 54" for many years, and used a 48" for 10 years before that. Personally I would never go over 60" on an ATV unless you live where you don't really have much snow.

This is in the ditch by my driveway, the piles are 15' tall by spring.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
I have a 48 with an added wing and regret not getting a 54...and I have a Grizzly 450

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
unless this year changes we wont get more then 6 to 8 inches at a time. Im thinking ill be ok with a 60

·
Registered
182 Posts
I have the 60 inch with wings no regrets !

·
Registered
2017 Grizzly
352 Posts
I went with a 60 then added metal wings for a better pass, chains on the rear and about 70 lbs of weight in the rear basket seems the best formula for my prior 660Griz, the new 17 should do just fine, it is good for about 3+ ft, more then that and by angling the blade can do more with a head of steam.
I tried chains on all wheels but it just dug in too much and high centered. The rear chains solved that and still carry a come-a-long just in case. I rather live in micro climate.

·
Registered
247 Posts
I worked for a landscaping company plowing sidewalks with an ATV for 4 seasons. 48" is what we used and would get into a pinch if we used anything bigger. If you're moving a lot of snow at a time, a 48" or 54" is all you're gonna want. Went home and used a 2008 Suzuki Eiger with a 48" plow and did the whole driveway and yard with it. Needless to say I've done a LOT of plowing with an ATV. Probably over 100 miles pushing a plow. 60" would be too big unless you are using a SxS or if you plow nothing but light powder or snow of less than an inch deep.

·
Grizzled
2014 Yamaha Grizzly 700 EPS
3,662 Posts